for this we were made

June 10, 2006

"That's why women were created," she said in her address, "To complete man."

It was a bridal shower, so I understand why she said this. After all, did not God make Adam and then Eve? Did not Solomon say that he who finds a wife finds a "good thing"?

But I also do not understand why she said this, why she–a woman in ministry who loves the Lord–would say and believe that a woman's primary God-given task is something unatainable for many. I don't understand why glorifying God through marriage was not instead mentioned.

If she were right, how could I worship my Lord? How could I make a difference for the Kingdom?

One Response to “for this we were made”

  1. Isabel Says:

    Hey, I am just wondering whether you are still using this adress. I’ve seen you haven’t been posting anything for almost 10 years by now and maybe you would be allright with overwriting it to me?
    Best regards and have a nice weekend 🙂

Leave a comment